THE NE TIMEAS NINE: Evan Allumbaugh

Welcome to The Ne Timeas Nine. In these series, we’ll spotlight members of the NTRG team by asking them nine questions about food, work, life, and everything in between!

img_1754

Evan Allumbaugh, Chef de Cuisin of Flour + Water

1. As a Chef de Cuisine of one Ne Timeas restaurants, Flour+Water. What is one of your fondest memory working here? When I was still a line cook at the restaurant I had a strong interest in learning charcuterie. Chef Tom gave me the opportunity to grow that part of the restaurant, which is now a major part of the operation. Right before I got promoted into management I cured purebred mangalitsa prosciutto. This year I cracked one of those open after it had cured for two years, during our 7th birthday party!

2. If you weren’t a chef, what would you be? I honestly don’t know. I’ve been cooking since I was a little kid and it’s one of the only jobs I’ve ever had. I love what I do and I haven’t really ever thought about what else I would do if I wasn’t in a kitchen.

3. Rumor has it you were once in an architecture program! What made you leave that behind and pursue a path in the culinary arts and what is some advice you can give to those that may be in similar situation? I originally went to school at Arizona State for architecture, but two years into it I decided it’s not what i wanted to do for the rest of my life. My mom was the one who pushed me to go to culinary school and pursue cooking for a career because it’s something I had been doing my whole life. I think that if someone is thinking about changing their career, they should stage around some restaurants to get a feel for it first before they jump in. Cooking is a great passion for a lot of people, but working in a kitchen is tough and you have to be fully committed.

4. What brought you to SF? I wanted to take the next step for my career and work in a city that was driven by cuisine. I staged at flour+water August of 2012 and Tom offered me the job, two weeks later I was living and working in San Francisco.

5. Happiest food moment? I have two. The first being when I was promoted to Chef de Cuisine of flour+water and my family came in to dine. I cooked for them and practically sent them everything on the menu. They finally understood what I’ve been doing with my life and why I’ve been pushing so hard. The other one is when I went to Scandinavia earlier this year. I flew in to Norway and drove a rental car three hours to the middle of Sweden to eat at Faviken. After a four hour 30-course meal, we were offered Cuban cigars and Pappy Van Winkle bourbon and lead out to a teepee to enjoy them in the middle of a blizzard under the northern lights. 

6. What is your life motto? “We’re cooks, we make it happen” – Craig Polignano

7. Who taught you to cook? My mom is an incredible cook. We always had a home cooked meal every night of the week. I grew up by her side learning how to make homemade meals.

8. Where do you see yourself in 10 years? That’s a difficult question. I don’t know if I’ll be in San Francisco, but hopefully with a restaurant of my own, a small farm, a wife and two kids, and three dogs.

9. What is the worst job you have ever had? I’ve been really fortunate to have had some amazing jobs in my career. So, I would have to say it would be the only job where  I wasn’t in the kitchen. Trader Joe’s.

Leave a Reply

