Meet our Events Team:

Ne Timeas private dining is made up of four unique spaces: The Dough Room, Test Kitchen, Butcher Block and The Upstairs. From meeting with the host, working with the chef and wine team on menu creation, to putting the finishing touches on the table settings, these ladies do it all.

We are thrilled to introduce the events team, Kate Michels & Brittany Blake.

IMG_8873

 Name: Kate Michels

IMG_8667

Position: Director of Sales & Marketing

 

Tell me a little more about the events program at Ne Timeas & about some of your main duties:

I oversee all of the internal and external events for ne timeas restaurant group as well as, strategic marketing and public relations plans and executions. Oh, and I am also the professional chef rangler!

 

 What is your favorite event space we have?

 The Upstairs. I just love the light in there.

 

 What have you learned the most by working here?

Patience, time management and what really makes restaurants tick, working in them every day – there is always something new to learn, which is really exciting and also challenging, all at the same time.

 

Favorite place to have an event in the city?

I’ve always wanted to do a tea party at the Top of the Mark. And I also thought it would be cool to have a cocktail party in the Penthouse Suite at the Fairmont Hotel-it has a library and bookcase that fills an entire room as well as amazing views of the city. And I’ve always loved the Cookhouse in North Beach.

 

Favorite place for…

Coffee: Buena Vista Cafe (known for their Irish Coffee). Is it too alcoholic to say the Buena Vista? I also like getting Blue Bottle Coffee at the Ferry Building and walking around to all the little shops.

Brunch: central kitchen, of course! And another one is Zazie in Cole Valley – the french toast is amazing.

Cocktails: I have a thing for dirty martinis, so one of my favorite dirty martinis in the city is at The House of Prime Rib, and they give you a little shaker on the side…but if you’re looking for something really fun and interesting, i’d go trick dog. Trou Normand is also really cool.

 

 Favorite place for dinner in the city right now or restaurants you recommend

I can really eat anything so it just really depends on my mood. It could be anywhere from Katana-Ya for ramen, going out for a night in china town, to having an elaborate, fun, ridiculously expensive night at Gary Danko, Quince, La Folie or State Bird Provisions.

 

 Places you’ve been wanting to try

Oh, i’ve been wanting to go to Oakland and try all the spots over there. I’ve also been wanting to go to Alta and The Coachman.

 

 What ne timeas event are you most excited for (off-site)?

Eat Drink Sf in August. It’s just such a fun event that brings the whole city together. And we’re (flour+water & central kitchen) honored to still be a part of it. Chef Tom and Ryan will both be there. It’s over 100 different restaurants that participate, it’s over the course of the weekend with tastings and wines, a really fun, collaborative event.

 

 Ideal day off

My ideal day off is getting out of the city. Either going up to wine country, sitting outside in Lafayette Park, having a glass of wine, Pt. Reyes for a hike and oysters–basically something that involves activity and food is always a good thing.

 

 Things your most excited about for summer

Watermelon. Sangria. Park and picnic days. Rooftop Sunsets. Not particularly in that order.

 

Name: Brittany Blake

IMG_8094

Position: Event Sales Manager

 

Tell me a little more about the events program at ne timeas & about some of your main duties:

I manage all of the smaller private dining rooms we have. The Dough Room, Test Kitchen, Butcher Block and The Upstairs and I assist Kate with buy-outs and offsites. I also handle the logistical part of events from client interactions and contracts, and we’re growing the department this year and our goal is to expand, and create more innovative event programing for our newest space, The Upstairs.

 

 What is your favorite event space we have?

The Upstairs – I love rooms with a lot of light and I think the windows are really beautiful. It’s a great party room and I love how we’re able to fuse all of our restaurants together up there (in terms of the menu).

 

 What have you learned the most by working here?

I have never worked in a restaurant before. The event marketing I did previously was for sports companies, and I’ve always gone to a lot of restaurants and been interested in the culture, but never knew the many moving parts and intracacies of the day-to-day that make an excellent dining experience for the guest.

 

Favorite place to have an event in the city?

 I really love having events outside, especially at parks. And I like the private dining program at Park Tavern.

 

 Favorite place for…

Coffee: Sightglass

Brunch: Plow or Outerlands

Cocktails: Loló has fun cocktails. 15 Romolo and Maven are great as well!

 

 Favorite place for dinner in the city right now or restaurants you recommend

 The coolest dinner I’ve been to recently is at Loló. My friends and I ordered everything on the menu. I love Bar Tartine and Tartine Bakery…..just everything tartine! Cotogna for Italian as well as State Bird Provisions.

 

 Places you’ve been wanting to try

 I want to try new spots in Oakland especially, Box & Bells and Penrose, but I honestly have a whole list of restaurants on my list of must-try spots including Saison, Benu, Manresa.

 

 What event you’re most excited for (off-site)

 I’m excited for Eat Drink SF (formally known as SF Chef’s) in August and I’m really excited for the 20th Street Block Party.

 

 Ideal day off

Playing with my puppy, being outside (either by the water, enjoying Sonoma or Healdsburg) and eating a lot of food.

 

 Things your most excited about for summer

Outside Lands, peaches, nectarines and rosé.

 

Post & Photos by Asta Karalis

Leave a Reply

