Things I Love by Asta from salumeria

1st: Love & Hummus
I first saw this little jar at Whole Foods a couple months back while shopping for some lunch. I was hesitant to try it because I’m always disappointed by store bought
hummus. A couple weeks later, it appeared on the shelves at salumeria. I think it was a sign. Oh, and it is local. My experiences with local products in San Francisco have only been good ones, so I had to give it a try.

Now the hard part, choosing a flavor. There are four choices: classic, lemon & thyme, caramelized onion, and spicy harissa. I had to go for the Lemon & Thyme. The lemon flavor is strong but not overbearing and the thyme is subtle
but definitely present. The ingredients are: Organic [everything] garbanzo beans, tahini, lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil, garlic, sea salt, thyme, spices, and agave. And you can tell. It tastes homemade. It’s thicker than most but still manages to be creamy at the same time. Stir it a few times for the ideal texture. The agave sweetens the deal!

All of their hummus is hand made and sold locally in the Bay Area. When I began researching the company, I found that the owner (Donna) a busy new mom, was having the same problem I was, “I no longer had time to make my favorite homemade recipes from scratch so I began searching for store bought versions of my favorite foods like hummus that met my high standards for homemade flavor. When my search left me empty handed or shall we say with an empty pita, inspiration struck and The Love & Hummus Co. was born.”
I had these with some whole-wheat pita chips, which we sell at salumeria. Serve this hummus at your holiday party and make sure to stock up because it goes fast. Oh and save the jar, it comes in handy!

2nd: Empire Mayonnaise
This company makes mayo look cool! First off, check out their website. I think that there is a theme running at Salumeria…everything comes in a cute little jar. Oops, I got sidetracked. Back to the website- these guys have flavors like white truffle, smokey bacon, smoked paprika, lime pickle. Just sayin…

Right now, salumeria carries their classic, rosemary, and vadouvan. I went for the vadouvan (an Indian curry with French influence). I’m always craving something warm and spicy when it gets into holiday season so I thought this was fitting. Empire took all the yummy spices of cumin, turmeric, and nutmeg and turned them into the best mayo ever. I’m not kidding, it’s so good, and there’s a little hint of red pepper mixed in as well.
Empire is Brooklyn based duo, Sam (chef) and Elizabeth (designer) who started up in 2011. They use non-gmo oil, local pasture-raised eggs and seasonal ingredients. You could put this mayo on just about anything. Spice up your thanksgiving leftovers! Dunk your pretzel roll in there! That’s what we did!

3rd: Tipu’s Chai
I think the universe knew I was craving chai tea because we just got it in at salumeria. If I’m not in the mood for coffee, chai is my go to. It just so happens I always want it when I’m cuddled up at home and don’t want to leave the house because it’s cold! Tipu’s chai is easy to make and super flavorful. I added vanilla soymilk (steamed) and some honey to mine. There are instructions on the back and one box makes about 36 servings. It’s 100% organic, kosher, sugar-free, preservative free, gluten-free, and vegan. Oh my! Not to mention it’s full of antioxidants.

It’s made with Assam tea and organic spices. Assam is a black tea named after the region in India. It’s full-bodied and slightly malty. The chai recipe has been in owner, Bipin Patel’s, family for generations. He first opened up an Indian restaurant in Montana in 1997. Patel began serving ‘bottomless chai’. It became so popular that he ended up leaving the restaurant business to focus on his chai. He now makes slow brew, concentrate, and instant chai and sells it all over the country. Best enjoyed on your couch with something sweet.

Everything mentioned in this post is available from salumeria, 3000 20th st, san francisco, ca 94110.

Read previous posts by Asta herehere, here and here.

Leave a Reply

