A Few Minutes With Brenna

This week I caught up with manager Brenna to find out a little bit more about her and her love of staying up on yoga, late nights at the California Academy of Sciences.
What appealed to you about joining the team at central kitchen?

Flour & Water has been my favorite restaurant in San Francisco; when I found out the Ne Timeas group was behind Central Kitchen, it was a no-brainer. I couldn’t sign up fast enough! I’ve been in San Francisco for three years. That whole time I was bartending at Zuni Cafe.

What’s your favorite dish at central kitchen, salumeria and flour + water?
Right now I like the sweet potato dish with guajillo chili & mascarpone at Central Kitchen. I think the favor profiles work really well together. The Weisswurst sandwich at Salumeria is killer. I always tell myself to just eat half, and before I know it, it’s gone! I absolutely adore all the pastas at Flour & Water. The hardest part is making a decision!

What do you do to unwind in San Francisco?

I teach Bikram yoga & also practice vinyasa. For me, the best way to unwind is to take class. During the day I manage an apartment building.  Balancing three jobs can be pretty challenging, but the most difficult part is finding free time.

What do you do in your free time?

When I do have a night off, you better believe I’m doing something fun! I’m wild about late nights at the California Academy of Sciences.  Last night I saw Grizzly Bear at the Fox theater in Oakland.  Beforehand I had dinner at Plum, that to me was a perfect night.

Where are your favorite places to go in San Francisco?
I jokingly tell people that I moved to San Francisco because of Tartine.  Seriously, I spend way too much time there.  We are so fortunate to live in a foodie playground.  I absolutely love the restaurant scene here!

For Brunch: I’m mad for Bar Agricole.  They have this amazing crepe cake that I seriously crave every single morning.

For Lunch: Nothing beats a beautiful day and oysters at Hog Island at the Ferry Building.  I am always in the mood for pizza- Little Star, Delfina, Gialina, Tony’s, or of course, flour+water.

For Cocktails: When it comes to cocktails, I admit I can be pretty snobby.  I prefer hanging out at bars in restaurants.  Lately I like Lolinda.  Wo Hing has the BEST pina colada I’ve ever had, and that’s not usually my style. I’m
also pretty into Big in the Tenderloin.

For a First Date: If I’m going on a first date, I usually suggest Terroir Wine Bar– I’m always surprised by their eclectic list.  I also love Mosto– they have the best margaritas this side of Austin, Texas (where I’m from, y’all).

Adventures in San Francisco: I have to admit, I’m having a very passionate love affair with San Francisco: is there anything this city can’t do?! I’m a runner, and the climate is perfect here.  There are incredible running and hiking trails throughout the city. My only complaint is that there are always at least three things that I want to do on my day off, and I really have to be cutthroat to narrow it down.  Then there’s the surrounding area.  I still can’t get over the fact that you can drive an hour and a half in any direction and be some place utterly amazing.  In Texas, you have to drive 8 hours to be someplace cool.

Find out more about different people on our team here, here and here.

And don’t forget, central kitchen brunch starts this Sunday 11/11. More info here.

 

Leave a Reply

